Product SiteDocumentation Site

8.8. Enabling and Disabling Zones

Active zones can have clients added to them, are available for lookups, and are used by FreeIPA services like Kerberos. Deleting a DNS zone removes the zone entry and all the associated configuration.
There can be situations when it is necessary to remove a zone from activity without permanently removing the zone. This is done by disabling the zone.

8.8.1. Disabling Zones in the Web UI

  1. Open the Identity tab, and select the DNS subtab.
  2. Click the name of the DNS zone to edit.
  3. Open the Settings tab.
  4. Scroll down to the Active zone field. To disable the zone, set the value to FALSE.
  5. Click the Update link at the top of the settings page.

8.8.2. Disabling Zones in the Command Line

Disabling a zone is done by using the dnszone-disable command.
For example:
$ ipa dnszone-disable server.example.com
When the zone needs to be brought back online, it can be re-enabled using the dnszone-enable command.